Tuesday, May 25, 2010

Anti-colonialism and Nationalism in South Asia

1700s - East India Company, defeating French and Dutch in Bengal

1765 - control of Bengal, EIC becomes an Indian Lord, with an army and government

The British parliament gained the power to control Company policies 1773 and 1784

1857 Rebellion / MUTINY, sepoys of the Company army

1858 India becomes part of the British Commonwealth, viceroy is head of the Indian state

1885 resentment against British rule,

INDIAN NATIONAL CONGRESS: a platform for reform where all peoples of South Asia including the British are members


1906 All India Muslim League, joining forces with the National Congress

1909 reforms: Indian member in viceroy’s council & Indian provincial representatives

1915 WWI India also at war with Germany


•Swaraj : Complete freedom (1919)

•Satyagraha : Non-cooperation movement based on non-violence (ahimsa), 1920-22

•Civil Disobedience Movement Quit India Movement 1930

•Salt March & homespun cotton: economic self-sufficiency

•1931 Gandhi & British agreement

•1937 The India Act: a political compromise with institutions of self-government: a two chambered legislative body but cabinet under British control


•Jinnah, a Congress leader

•1934 Jinnah leads the Muslim League, declaring that the Indian National Congress does not represent Muslims

•The idea of Pakistan : land of the pure in Urdu


•India again at war against Germany, promised independence after the war

•1946 negotiations as Britain agrees to independence if Indians find a solution

•1947 partition of Pakistan and India